Unused applications could be slowing your Mac

OS X Lion slowing you down?

One possibility for a slow computer is unused applications running in the background.

Slow computer

Slow computer

To check go to “System Preferences” / “Users & Groups” / “Login Items.”

On my Mac Lion had the two apps running and four that failed to run. The four that failed to start were no longer on my computer. I had removed them long ago. The other two were GeekTool and Google Chrome. I selected all the apps and hit the “-” to remove them from the Login Items list. Removing the apps from this list will not uninstall them.

Note: Always check and make sure you are not removing any apps that need to be there to operate properly.

This is just one possible reason for a slow computer. But for me it was all I need to fixed the problem.

About Chris Hall
Hi, I'm Chris, also know as Daddy from the blog "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy." I am a stay-at-home dad who loves spending time with my son Jaydon. In my spare time I work evenings and weekends at the Charleston County Library. Be sure to check out our blog, "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy."

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

