Will smartphones replace your digital camera?

I have two digital cameras. A Kodak Easyshare and a no name cheep 4MP camera.

The Kodak Easyshare took great photos, until I dropped it two years ago putting a huge scratch in the lens. It’s also acting funny. This left me with the cheep 4MP digital camera to take pictures with.

Until now.

Last winter my wife and I were looking to upgrade our cell phones. Expecting a new addition to the family we decided to go with a smartphone with a high quality camera built into it. This of course narrowed our choices but after doing some research we decided on the Droid X.

The Droid X’s camera is capable of taking photos up to 8MP at 300dpi. It has eight scene setting, flash options, face detection, picture resolution, and the ability to manually set the ISO, and shutter speed.

Very impressive stats, but it’s still a cell phone.

So how good are the photos really? Well after playing with the settings and getting comfortable with the camera I started taking serious photos. And to my surprise I was impressed with the results.

Foggy night at Waterfront Park - Taken with my "Droid X" using the manual settings. Photo by Chris Hall

Frog on the tracks - Taken with my Droid X. Photo by Chris Hall

Fountain - Taken with my Droid X. Photo by Chris Hall

Statue - Taken with my Droid X. Photo by Chris Hall

About Chris Hall
Hi, I'm Chris, also know as Daddy from the blog "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy." I am a stay-at-home dad who loves spending time with my son Jaydon. In my spare time I work evenings and weekends at the Charleston County Library. Be sure to check out our blog, "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy."

One Response to Will smartphones replace your digital camera?

  1. Cheyenne Sarabando says:

    Many times, digital cameras do not have sufficient memory space. It is true that the in-built memory can vary depending on the brand of digital camera. In a few cases, the in-built memory can store just about 15 numbers of pictures. Your kids may get it not enough while going out in a break. For this reason, it would be great, if you could get bigger the default memory space. This can offer your kid flexibility to accumulate a larger number of pictures.

    <,http://www.caramoanpackage.com

Leave a Reply

