Social media junkie

Do you Twitter and Facebook all day and night? Do you log into multiple social media sites and write blogs? Then you mite be a social media junkie.

My first social media experience began in the late 1980s with a Bulletin Board System or BBS for short. Using a phone line and modem a user could log into the system using a terminal program. Many BBSes offered on-line games, chat rooms, and file sharing. The technology was very limited and the only thing you would see on your monitor was text and ASCII characters. Sorry, no photos or graphics. This was the dark ages.

In 2001 I dabbled with instant messaging. But I was not too keen on it.

My next fling with social media was around 2006 when I heard about MySpace. An interesting idea of socializing with photos, music, and messages posted on a wall for everyone to see. It was a cool idea so I dove right in. However after a little more than a year I found myself spending less and less time on MySpace. The design and layout seemed childlike for me and most of my friends wanted nothing to do with it. So I eventually abandoned MySpace.

Note: MySpace redesigned its site in 2010. It has a more modern look with entertainment as the corner-stone of its content.

Bulletin Board System

Bulletin Board System

In 2008 I was at work when I learned about Twitter. Several employees had started using the site and said it was an interesting way to communicate. Around the same time I also started using Facebook. At first I did not give either site much attention. I would twitter this and facebook that from time to time but that was it.

It was not until 2009, that I realized the growing popularity of Facebook and Twitter. I even went as far to suggest to my boss that we start posting information about our business on Facebook. We were already using Twitter.

With most of my friends on Facebook, some on Twitter and part of my responsibilities at work to update the two, I decided to dive head first into social media.

Today I currently log into 18 different social media sites, with Facebook, Twitter and Foursquare as my top three. I also use and read social bookmarking & social news sites like, Delicious, StumbleUpon, Digg and Reddit. I follow several blogs and forums and write my own blog, “My Digital Desktop” with plans for a second called “Jaydon’s Corner.”

I can honestly say I went from someone who saw very little in social media to being a big supporter and contributor of it.

Below is a list of social media sites I visit and participate in. Perhaps I’ll see you on one.

Facebook
Gowalla
Twitter
Google+
Foursquare
YouTube
Linkedin
Hootsuite
TripAdvisor
Travbuddy
Gravatar
Quora
Geocaching
Twitpic
Twtpoll
Photobucket
Yelp
The Hotlist
GetGlue
About Chris Hall
Hi, I'm Chris, also know as Daddy from the blog "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy." I am a stay-at-home dad who loves spending time with my son Jaydon. In my spare time I work evenings and weekends at the Charleston County Library. Be sure to check out our blog, "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy."

2 Responses to Social media junkie

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Social media junkie « My Digital Desktop -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

