A winter solstice, lunar eclipse

On December 21, 2010 around two in the morning I was lucky to witness an awe-inspiring sight, a lunar eclipse during the winter solstice.

I’ve seen partial eclipses before but not a full one. So I was even more surprised when the moon turned red and the sky eerily dark.

I was alone in front of my house with my camera and a tripod. The neighborhood started to grow darker as the moon was slowly eaten by the night sky. The temperature was cold but bearable. Living in the Charleston area of South Carolina has its advantages.

Placing my Kodak camera and tripod in the middle of the road I focused in on the moon. I set the timer and over the next 40 minutes I took some very cool photos.

A lunar eclipse during the winter solstice - photo by Chris Hall

A lunar eclipse during the winter solstice - photo by Chris Hall

A lunar eclipse during the winter solstice - photo by Chris Hall

About Chris Hall
Hi, I'm Chris, also know as Daddy from the blog "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy." I am a stay-at-home dad who loves spending time with my son Jaydon. In my spare time I work evenings and weekends at the Charleston County Library. Be sure to check out our blog, "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy."

Leave a Reply

