Using Jedi mind trick to get up in the morning

When you are the parent of an 8-month-old sleep is the last thing you get to do. And getting up in the morning can be harder than ever before.Luckily I have a unique trick that helps me get up and start my day.

Sleeping

Sleeping. Photo by Vera Kratochvil

As I get into bed I actually tell myself, “I’m going to get up, get out of bed and be in a good mood.”

In a way I am preparing myself for the inevitable and undulating task of waking up, especially when I work evenings and only get five to six hours of sleep.

The next morning my wife wakes me so I can take care of baby Jaydon and she can head off to work. A little groggy, the words I said to myself come back to me and the next thing I know I am out of bed. Within a couple of minutes I am feeling good and awake.

I’ve actually used this trick hundreds of times in the past even before we had Jaydon.

Another trick that surprises me and my wife every time is setting a mental alarm clock. I tell myself I want to get up at certain time, for example 6:00 a.m. and sure enough I wake up within ten minutes of 6:00. It’s gotten to the point where I do not even have to set an alarm. Although if I have to get up for something very important I will set a conventional alarm.

Now this does not mean I can go indefinitely on five to six hours of sleep. I do drink coffee usually about a hour after getting up and take naps when Jaydon does.

I‘m not a follower of holistic or dharma beliefs but I have discovered that a little Jedi mind control helps me get up in the morning so I can start the day with my son.

About Chris Hall
Hi, I'm Chris, also know as Daddy from the blog "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy." I am a stay-at-home dad who loves spending time with my son Jaydon. In my spare time I work evenings and weekends at the Charleston County Library. Be sure to check out our blog, "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy."

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

