Can you beat my high mileage?

Like most Americans my budget is tight so for now upgrading to a newer vehicle is out of the question.

I drive a Dodge Dakota pickup, it’s 13-years-old and looks like it. The V6 engine overheats from time to time and the air conditioner no longer works but other than that it runs great.

The mileage on my truck.

I purchased my Dodge used with just over 40,000 miles on it in 2000. Now 11 years later my truck has 251,492 miles on the odometer.

I do not have any plans currently to replace my truck. I use it as my primary vehicle to get to and from work. Besides my wife’s car is newer, has a working air conditioner and we use hers as the family car.

Are you driving an older vehicle with high mileage?

Is your vehicles mileage higher than mine?

Leave me a comment with the make, model, year and of course the mileage and lets see who has the highest.


About Chris Hall
Hi, I'm Chris, also know as Daddy from the blog "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy." I am a stay-at-home dad who loves spending time with my son Jaydon. In my spare time I work evenings and weekends at the Charleston County Library. Be sure to check out our blog, "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy."

5 Responses to Can you beat my high mileage?

  1. Diana Cornman says:

    1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 257210

  2. imabug says:

    i’m nowhere near that. 2000 Toyota Camry that’s just about to hit 120000 miles. work is only about 5 miles from home and aside from a few road trips here and there it doesn’t go much farther than that on a daily basis.

    • CmHall9 says:

      This is the second of four vehicles I’ve owned outright. When I got the Dakota I decided right then that I was going to hold onto it for as long as I can. I just wish I started putting money into saving after I paid it off. I would have been able to buy a new car and pay cash with it by now.

  3. Rishona says:

    Nope; my car (a 2001 Mitsubishi Eclipse) only has 88,000 miles on it. But my previous car (which I won’t say what it was) died at only 137,000 (transmission failed….$3K to fix…not worth it)! I am HORRIFIED at the price of cars today and how they don’t seem to last. Back in 1996, I brought a 1990 Honda Civic with 90,000 miles on it for $2,500. It lasted me until 210,000 (when an SUV t-boned me in the snow). However subsequent cars (all imports) all seem to develop very expensive problems at 150,000. Not preventative maintenance stuff. But years ago you could take a car to your neighborhood mechanic. Today they have computers and you have to go to the dealer!

    My mother brought new Chevy Aveo (teeny tiny car) and it was the only thing on the lot less than $15K. So crazy! My car is a GT and has every option (except automatic transmission) and the MSRP back in 2000/01 was only $21,000. Inflation hasn’t been THAT much from 2001 up until now!

    Couple that with the cutbacks in public transportation (at least in my area) and a car is pretty much mandatory. Very frustrating….especially since cars are becoming more and more unaffordable and inaccessible. I make $30K a year and could never even DREAM of owning a new car (they cost way too much).

  4. Pingback: What’s a good asking price for a 1993 Nissan Pick-up? | Daytona Beach Air Conditioning

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

