Facebook has your number

Along with your name, age, address and location, you also have the option to post your phone number on Facebook. Like most people I presumed that to find my phone number a user would have to gain access my profile page and then scroll down to the Contact Information section to see it.

Well not any more.

Facebook Phonebook

Facebook now has a phone directory of all your friends. Simply click on Account in the top right hand corner of the screen. Then select Edit Friends. Go to the left side of the screen and you will see Phone Book. Select it and a list of all your friends with their phone numbers will appear.

I personally do not post my phone number anywhere on the web. If someone wants to contact me they can use the sites contact option or email me if my email available.

I do not have evidence of this happening but with a list of phone numbers available like this it would be ease for phone scammers and telemarketer to get ahold of your information. Also criminals trying to steal your personal information.

All they would have to do is create a fake profile and then friend as many people as possible. The simple fact is the more personal information you provide online the easier it will be for your identity to be stolen.

If you use Facebook with your business or job I would only post your work number. Give your personal number to people you trust.

To remove your number from the phone book just edit your contact information and delete your phone number.

About Chris Hall
Hi, I'm Chris, also know as Daddy from the blog "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy." I am a stay-at-home dad who loves spending time with my son Jaydon. In my spare time I work evenings and weekends at the Charleston County Library. Be sure to check out our blog, "The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy."

4 Responses to Facebook has your number

  1. The Bruteforcer says:

    You can make a list with the people you trust and allow them to view your phone number – click on privacy settings, user-defined and scroll down, there you can set who is able to see your number. Click on extended and type the name of the group into the field (tip: you can also blacklist groups).

  2. Magen says:

    Hi there I located your site by mistake when i searched Google for this matter, I have to express your page is truly helpful I also seriously like the design, its cool!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

